Black Beauty Series (1972) Collection – Season 1

Theatrical Release: August 1, 1972
DVD Release: May 5, 2009
Black Beauty Series (1972) Collection – Season 1


This heartwarming classic tale of a family and their beloved horse is brought to life in this popular TV series, a benchmark in children’s television. Featuring a top-notch cast, this show has entranced viewers around the world with its mix of charm, period detail and weekly perils. Includes the entire 26 exciting episodes of Season 1.

Dove Review

This is an excellent period piece with a classic theme. Black Beauty is an astonishing stallion that becomes a part of Dr. Gordon’s family when they move from London to the British countryside. Black Beauty always saves the day whenever trouble arises for the family or any close associate.

Set in the early 1900s, Black Beauty, the Gordon children, and friends meet some colorful characters. Each episode is a combination where one or all of the family are involved a situation that will need Black Beauty to save the day. You can guarantee that the bad guys will be caught, that good will triumph over evil and the horse is a hero in some way. It seems that every episode has a happy ending.

One must remember that this series was made in the early seventies and is a classic for its time. Dove awards this series our Dove “Family-Approved” Seal.

Content Description

Sex: None
Language: None
Violence: Each episode may contain one mild element such as guns, knife, animal brutality, duels, robbery; man being shot, con artist, thefts.
Drugs: Doctor administrates medicine; man smokes pipe.
Nudity: None
Other: Gossiping; misjudgment of people.


Company: Image Entertainment
Writer: John Kane
Director: Peter Duffell and Freddie Francis
Genre: Serials/Shorts
Runtime: 589 min.
Industry Rating: Not Rated
Reviewer: Donna Rolfe